Even Milan Deserves A Second Chance

Next week I will have the chance to be in Milan for the second time, and that’s a good thing. The first time I went it was January and all I can say is, that I was happy to leave. Nothing dramatic happened, except that the weather was awful. I heard that winter in Milan isn’t too pleasant, but after all I thought it’s still Italy, can’t be too bad. The first afternoon was fine, blue sky, I went on top of the cathedral it was beautiful. The second day it was snowing all day, but it wasn’t the nice fluffy snow, it was muddy snow. Nevertheless, I am willing to give Milan a second chance. 

milan

Milan isn’t too famous for it’s tourist attractions, besides the cathedral and maybe the Last Supper painting by Leonardo Da Vinci oh and the high fashion stores. Therefore, I will better prepare some sights to see before I end up sitting all day in a tourist cafe or worse McDonalds and take pictures of churches and the Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II, the oldest shopping mall in Italy. 

galleriaFirst thing I will do when I will arrive is to spin with my heel on the bull’s balls inside the gallery. Three times, because it’s supposed to bring luck. Can you see the hole? It probably became 10 time more visible ever since the crisis started.bullIf you want to see Leonardo Da Vinci’s Last Supper, make sure you plan ahead, since number of ticket sold per day are limited. Visit this website in order to buy tickets in advancesupperThe Sforza Castle is another place to visit, especially if you are into architecture, but not only. It’s a renaissance castle with a beautiful garden and 7 mini museums that you can visit inside.  The only thing to watch out for are the foreign street sellers who often force on people wristbands as a sign of “friendship” and in return demand money. This also happens in other places, but near the castle it’s more uncomfortable, since there aren’t many security guards. So be safe!sforzaIt’s embarrassing to say, but as a child I loved watching Fantaghiro (a TV Show) and that’s the reason why I love visiting medieval/renaissance castles like this one. fantaghiroThis is Fantaghiro, played by Alessandra Martines, who btw is Carla Bruni’s cousin. Small world, right?

Now on to food and drinks, Milan is the birthplace of my favorite time of the day – aperitivo. Drinks with a (cold) food buffet in cafes.campariIn order to find out where the locals go for aperitivo, I recommend checking out this page and read what places locals visit.

If the city seems not enough for you, you can take a day trip to Lake Como. To be honest, I almost prefer to spend my day there after a nice late breakfast and return for aperitivo time to the center. Here you can find our how to reach Lake Como from Milan’s center. It’s worth it, look how beautiful. Plus you may run into George Clooney. como2Milan feels to me like a more metropolitan city, not so much the traditional idyllic Italian town we have in our heads. I look forward to my trip and will spin my heel in the bull’s balls to get good weather. If you know any places in Milan that you would like to recommend PLEASE do. Thank you in advance!

Have a great day!

xxx

Images retrieved from Pinterest, if you see your image please let me know and I will credit or remove it. Merci!

 

7 thoughts on “Even Milan Deserves A Second Chance

  1. Great to hear you’re giving Milan a second chance and I hope it shows you a better time! I too had a slightly dodgy experience the first time round with pick pockets trying to get into my bag but I’d love to give it another go! La Scala is worth a look too! Buona vacanza! :o)

    • Thank you for the tip, I didn’t consider La Scala at the beginning. It’s too bad the city has so many pick pockets, at least it’s good to be aware of it. I also hope you will be luckier the second time around in Milan 🙂

  2. I LOVE Milan! The cobblestone streets, the crazy good shopping & the multiple Dolce & Gabbana boutiques – not to mention the food, wine and gorgeous people watching! Enjoy!!!!!!

  3. I’d love to visit Milan and get a sense of what people there are like. I didn’t have a great experience in Rome but would definitely give it a second chance.

Leave a Reply

