“You must not quote to me what I once said. I am wiser now.” Romy Schneider

Today I watched a documentary about Romy Schneider, who I always admired. You most likely know Romy if you ever heard of Alain Delon or the German/Austrian Sissi movies. Romy was an actress with many insecurities and an extremely sensitive personality, but her entire life even now so many admire her. Unfortunately, her life behind the scene wasn’t too gentile. She grew up in a private school and often lacked attention and love from her parents. Later in life she tried to find that affection in men, Alain Delon became the love of her life. With no happy ending, after almost 5 years of being together, Delon left her for another woman. Briefly after that she decided to get married, yet her husband was a controlling and depressed man who years later committed suicide. It doesn’t end with that, some years afterwards her 14 year old son died in an accident when he tried to climb a fence. All this broke her fragile soul when she died from heard failure at the age of 43, only 11 months after her son passed away.

romy

“I am nothing in life, but everything on the screen” Romy

romy4

Alain and Romy in happier times.

romyal romy3

“Delon? Nothing is colder than a love that has passed away”

romy6

“I am not afraid of nothing in the world. Except ego”

romy1

“Life must go on. My work gives me strength”

romy5

 

“Memories are the best things in life, I think” 

al

A beautiful woman. Often I reread her biography because it’s fascinating how beautiful and sad at the same time a person can be

Do you have a similar person who you admire?

Have a lovely day!

xxx

2 thoughts on ““You must not quote to me what I once said. I am wiser now.” Romy Schneider

  1. Have you ever seen Madchen in Uniform, the 1958 version? I included this film and two others as part of my MA thesis. Schnieder’s depiction of the child character was fantastic. If reading interviews grabs you, try looking up transcripts of conversations relative to the Madchen adaptations.

  2. Thank you for your msg. I actually never watched Madchen in Uniform although I also noticed it’s one of those movies in which i feel Romy played herself. Now I plan to watch it. It’s interesting that you wrote about this less famous movie in your thesis. May I ask why you chose it?

Leave a Reply

